Seven Sevens Report: Clockwise Record Breakers

by Jim Brown


Ian Bailey went into this race intent on breaking records, and he succeeded for he produced the fastest ever clockwise circuit, beating Steve Cunningham’s 2010 time by a few minutes. His time of 3 hrs,36mins, 4secs is the fastest ever by a local runner in either direction.

The record breakers

The record breakers

Diane Wilson was also smashing records as she came home in third place overall in a time of4hrs, 19mins, 54 secs, her fastest ever time in either direction and the new clockwise and local based female record.

Sandwiched between them was the fast improving young talent, Paul Pruzine, claming second place in a very commendable 4hrs, 07mins,35secs; will he be breaking the records a few years down the trail?

Paul Hollywood claimed forth place and finished just ahead of Megan Wilson. Her time of 4hrs 33mins was testament to another fantastic effort on the day and ranks her as second only to Diane in terms of brilliant Seven Sevens local performances.

Seventy Two runners enjoyed the good conditions as did around 380 walkers, meaning that a record turnout of 450 sampled the Seven Sevens this year. I hope you all enjoyed it.
I was assisted at the prize giving by Sandra, one of the longest serving marshals in the 24 year history of this event. If it wasn’t for the support of the Spartan Red Sox walking club members this race and walk would not happen, so a big thank you to them for all their hard work.

You may also like...