Spelga Skyline (c)

Spelga Skyline (c)

Online Entry here

Race Information
NIMRA Championship – Long distance race

Date: Saturday 2nd July 2022
Registration: 9.30 – 10.30am (face mask required)
Race Start: 11am
Race Director: Mark Hopkins
(Cut Off Time 14:00 at Deers Meadow road crossing)

Distance: 21k/13 miles (subject to route choice)
Ascent: 1550m

This is an arduous mountain race on open mountains and entrants should have the necessary required fitness levels and experience before submitting an entry. In bad weather and/or poor visibility navigation skills and experience is an essential requirement for all entrants. This is not a suitable race for novices or new entrants to the sport of mountain running. The race organisers reserve the right to refuse a starting place to anybody whom they deem to not have the requisite experience and/or fitness. The minimum entry age is 18

Parking: Runners should park below the dam in the ‘runners only’ car park. Please do not use the public car park or the NI Water Commissioners car park. Entrance to the runners car park is at map ref: 264 274. Marshalls will direct the runners to the car park area.

268 274
Inside gate
275 279
Slievenamuck summit / Butter Mountain
281 279
Stile / Road crossing
301 279
Slieve Meelbeg summit
294 273
Slieve Loughshannagh summit
282 250
Slieve Muck summit
271 254
Deer’s Meadow – Cut off
249 241
Slievemoughanmore summit
235 240
Pierces Castle summit
234 259
Rocky Mountain summit
245 276
Hen Mountain summit
254 268
Cock Mountain summit
265 273
Bridge below Spelga Dam
267 274
Finish – Spelga car park

Apart from visiting checkpoints and the above mentioned road crossings, the route choice is yours.

All runners must carry;
a) Whistle
b) Compass
c) Map of the entire course (Mournes Outdoor Pursuits Map) Black & White photocopy not acceptable.
d) Emergency rations equivalent to one mars bar (minimum)
e) Waterproof garments affording complete body protection.
f) Hat and gloves

Please bring the listed kit with you; runners will be advised of any adjustments to the kit list at registration. Runners will have their kit checked prior to the start.

This race will use a combination of checkpoint dibbers and marshals.

All retiring runners should report to the nearest marshal’s post (if possible), return by the safest, direct route and must report to the race organisers at the finish.

The first Spelga Skyline race was held in May 1981 and was won by Denis Rankin with Jim Hayes second.

You may also like...